Outlook Soundsets

Over the last few weeks, one of my “spare time” projects, was reviving my old PowerMac G4 and installing some old applications and this took me down a terrible rabbit hole of nostalgia. I installed Office 2001 for Mac, in Mac OS 9.2.2, and forgot how much I liked the Entourage 2001 soundset. While doing this, I decided to look into the possibility of custom soundsets in Outlook for Mac, and, to my surprise, it’s still possible, albeit a little cumbersome to install these. I’ve packaged up these retro nostalgic soundsets in Outlook 2016+ format, so feel free to download below:

Entourage 2001

Entourage 2004

Entourage X (Modified)

Microsoft Sound Set

Outlook Express

How To:

  1. Make sure you are not using the New Outlook view. If you are, open Outlook, click the Outlook menu, and uncheck “New Outlook”.

  2. Close Outlook.

  3. Copy the new sound set folder to ~/Library/Group Containers/UBF8T346G9.Office/Outlook/Outlook Sounds Sets. The folder should end in .erasesoundset. This is normal.

  4. Open Outlook.

  5. On the Outlook menu, click Preferences.

  6. Under Personal Settings, click Notifications & Sounds.

  7. Under Sounds, click the Sound set menu, and then select a sound set.

  8. Now, if you want to switch back to the New Outlook, you can click the Outlook menu, and check “New Outlook”.